Wiki Rath www.wiki-rath.org on behalf of Dr. Matthias Rath and the Dr. Rath Health Foundation

Wikipedia

Eine von gesellschaftlichen Interessengruppen gesteuerte sog. freie Enzyklopädie

Hier weiterlesen.

Sicherung des Status Quo

Wikipedia: Freier Zugang zur Gesamtheit allen menschlichen Wissens – oder nur eine andere Art und Weise, die Macht des Status Quo zu sichern?

Hier weiterlesen.

Die Soros-Verbindung

Einer der bemerkenswertesten Unterstützer der Wikimedia Foundation ist das sogenannte „Open Society Institute“, das vom Vorsitzenden des Soros Fund Management LLC, George Soros, gegründet wurde.

Hier weiterlesen.

Jimmy Wales

Gelten die Wikipedia-Grundsätze nicht für Jimmy Wales?

Hier weiterlesen.

Beispiele für historischen Wandel – Parallelen, aus denen wir lernen können

Der Kampf für den Wandel vom geozentrischen zum heliozentrischen Universum

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

Zur Zeit des Übergangs vom 16. zum 17. Jahrhundert war die katholische Kirche die mächtigste Institution der Welt. Ein Großteil ihrer Macht rührte aus dem Missverständnis heraus, dass die Erde das Zentrum des Universums sei – und Rom der Mittelpunkt der Erde.

Es war klar, dass die Römische Kirche durch die Widerlegung dieser Vorstellung des Universums einen Großteil der Macht und Kontrolle verlieren würde, die sie damals über die Völker der Erde ausübte.

So war zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts die Kontroverse zwischen dem geozentrischen Weltbild – mit der Erde im Mittelpunkt – und dem heliozentrischen Universum – mit der Sonne im Zentrum – auch eine der wichtigsten Auseinandersetzungen jener Zeit. Der Ausgang dieser Auseinandersetzung würde im Wesentlichen bestimmen, wer die nächsten Jahrhunderte die Vorherrschaft in der Welt besitzt.

Der Schauplatz

Auf der einen Seite dieses Kampfes stand der Status Quo (die Römische Kirche), der seine mittelalterlichen Privilegien sichern wollte. Auf der anderen Seite stand eine wachsende Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern, die die alten Dogmen ablehnten und sich wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen verpflichtet fühlten. Sie hatten die mittelalterlichen Zwänge des Denkens hinter sich gelassen und eine neue Zeit eingeleitet.

Nach den anfänglichen Abhandlungen über das heliozentrische System der Astronomen Nikolaus Kopernikus und Johannes Kepler beschloss der italienische Physiker Galileo Galilei, sich öffentlich für dieses neue Weltsystem auszusprechen. Die Entdeckung des Teleskops hatte ihm wesentlich dabei geholfen, den wissenschaftlichen Beweis für diese neue Wahrheit zu liefern.

Die Gegner – Die Taubenliga

Der ersten Veröffentlichung von Galileos Beobachtungen der Planeten durch das Teleskop im Jahr 1610 folgten Jahre der öffentlichen Kontroverse und Angriffe auf ihn. Seine Gegner waren so zahlreich, dass er aufgab, sich einzeln mit ihnen zu befassen. Und die Argumente seiner Gegner waren so skurril – sie versuchten, das geozentrische Universum mit immer absurderen Flugbahnen der Planeten zu rechtfertigen –, dass er sie gemeinsam als die “Taubenliga” bezeichnete.

Der Status Quo (die Römische Kirche) reagierte erbittert auf Galileos Schriften, da sie seine religiöse Macht gefährdeten – und letztlich seine politische und wirtschaftliche Macht über diesen Planeten. Im Jahre 1616 stufte die Römische Kirche das heliozentrische Modell des Universums daher als “ketzerisch” ein.

Nach der Veröffentlichung seines Hauptwerks, “Dialog über die zwei wichtigsten Weltsysteme”, eröffnete die Römische Inquisition 1633 gegen Galilei ein Untersuchungsverfahren wegen “Ketzerei”. Er wurde “unter vehementen Häresieverdacht” gestellt, da er gesagt hatte, dass:

“… die Sonne unbeweglich im Mittelpunkt des Universums liegt und dass die Erde nicht in der Mitte liegt und sich bewegt und dass man eine Meinung haben und verteidigen kann, auch wenn sie als Widerspruch zur Heiligen Schrift erklärt worden ist.”

Galileo wurde befohlen, diesen Meinungen “abzuschwören, sie zu verfluchen und zu verabscheuen”. Seine Bücher und Lehren wurden verboten – auch jene, die er in der Zukunft schreiben könnte. Um dieses Urteil zu verstärken, stellte die römische Inquisition Galileo für den Rest seines Lebens unter Hausarrest.

Es dauerte fast 400 Jahre, bis die katholische Kirche ihren Fehler eingestanden hatte. Im Jahr 1992 erkannte Papst Johannes Paul II. offiziell Galileos wissenschaftlichen Beitrag und die Gültigkeit der “neuen Wahrheit”, das heliozentrische Universum, an.

Auch im Falle von Galileo haben sich deshalb die Worte des Philosophen Arthur Schopenhauer als richtig erwiesen:

Alle Wahrheit durchläuft drei Stufen. Zuerst wird sie lächerlich gemacht. Dann wird sie heftig bekämpft. Und schließlich wird sie als selbstverständlich angenommen.

Die erste Impfung – und der Kampf um ihre Akzeptanz

This image is in the public domain in the United States. In most cases, this means that it was first published prior to January 1, 1923 (see the template documentation for more cases). Other jurisdictions may have other rules, and this image might not be in the public domain outside the United States.

Edward Jenner (1749-1823)

Edward Jenner (1749-1823) war ein britischer Arzt und Wissenschaftler. Er war der erste, der eine Theorie über das Impfen entwickelte, die er erfolgreich bei Pocken testete, indem er Eiter aus Kuhpockenblasen verwendete.

Das war im Jahre 1796. Jenner teilte seine Erkenntnisse der Royal Society in London mit. Aber dieser Club, der zu dieser Zeit den Status Quo in der Medizin und den Naturwissenschaften vertrat, lehnte seine Arbeit ab.

Im Jahre 1802 war die Debatte über die neue Impfung in vollem Gange. Eine “Anti-Impf-Gesellschaft” wurde gegründet, die Jenner und seine neue Methode – die Verwendung von Kuhpocken zur Verhinderung von Pocken beim Menschen – frontal angriff. Die Abbildung unten aus dem gleichen Jahr zeigt Kühe, die aus den Körpern und Gliedmaßen von Menschen wachsen.

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Aber Jenner wusste, dass er recht hatte und fuhr mit seiner Arbeit trotz der anhaltenden Angriffe von den Interessenvertretern des medizinischen Status Quo fort. Im Jahr 1840 wurde auf der Grundlage der Pionierarbeit Jenners das “Impfgesetz” beschlossen, das die Impfung in Großbritannien für alle kostenlos anbot.

Damals wie heute tragen die Lobbyisten und Medienjournalisten des Status Quo, die den medizinischen Fortschritt angreifen, eine große Verantwortung. Zehntausende, vielleicht sogar Millionen von Menschen, sterben jedes Jahr, während ein medizinischer Fortschritt verzögert oder durch falsche Medienberichte behindert wird.

Das gleiche gilt auch heute beim Durchbruch der Naturheilverfahren im Kampf gegen Krebs und andere Krankheiten.

Die Beseitigung von Skorbut – 40 Jahre Verzögerung wegen des Widerstands durch den Status Quo

This work is in the public domain in the United States because it is a work of the United States Federal Government under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code.

James Lind (1716-1794)

James Lind (1716-1794) war ein schottischer Arzt. Er ist heute bekannt für seine Studien über die Ursachen und die Behandlung der Seefahrerkrankheit Skorbut.

Dr. Lind trat im Jahr 1739 in die Marine ein und wurde 1747 Arzt auf einem Schiff in der Bucht von Biskaya. Dort konnte er die gesundheitlichen Vorteile von Zitrusfrüchten bei Skorbut beweisen. In einem gut konzipierten Experiment behandelte er sechs verschiedene Gruppen von Matrosen mit unterschiedlichen Nahrungsergänzungen, einschließlich Essig, Salzwasser und Gewürzen. Aber nur die Gruppe der Skorbut-Patienten, die Orangen und Zitronen erhalten hatte, erholte sich von der Krankheit.

Im Jahr 1753 fasste er seine Erkenntnisse in dem Buch “Eine Abhandlung über Skorbut” zusammen. Dieses Buch wurde jedoch so gut wie ignoriert und Dr. Linds einfache, lebensrettenden Empfehlungen zur Behandlung von Seeleuten wurden vernachlässigt.

Erstaunlicherweise dauerte es weitere 40 Jahre, bis die britische Admiralität Dr. Linds Empfehlungen schließlich annahm und Zitronensaft und Limetten an jeden Seemann verteilt wurden.

Stellen Sie sich vor, wie viele Tausende Matrosen aus diesem einfachen Grund sterben mussten: der Widerstand des Status Quo gegenüber neuen Entdeckungen und die hinderliche Macht der alten Dogmen.

Skorbut betraf in dieser Zeit Tausende von Seeleute. Heute tötet Krebs 7,5 Millionen Menschen pro Jahr. Der Umfang der heutigen Krebs-Epidemie hat also ein noch größeres Ausmaß als Skorbut damals – und umso größer ist die Verantwortung derer, die heute die mögliche Kontrolle von Krebs durch den weit verbreiteten Einsatz von Mikronährstoffen blockieren.

Warum Epidemien kein Fluch des Himmels mehr sind

Image: Wikipedia

Louis Pasteur (1822-1895)

Bis zur Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden Seuchen wie Pest, Cholera und Pocken als Flüche des Himmels angesehen. Durch das plötzliche Auftreten dieser Erkrankungen und dem fehlenden Zugang zu Mikroskopen, mit deren Hilfe ihre wahre Herkunft hätte erforscht werden können, hatte sich dieser mittelalterliche Glauben seit den Anfängen der Menschheit durchgesetzt.

Allerdings änderte sich dies vor 150 Jahren. Mit Hilfe eines Mikroskops war der französische Chemiker Louis Pasteur in der Lage, die wirklichen Ursachen von Epidemien zu entdecken, Bakterien und andere Mikroorganismen. Darüber hinaus hat Pasteur nicht nur das Virus entdeckt, das eine der verheerendsten Krankheiten seiner Zeit, nämlich Tollwut, verursachte; vielmehr entwickelte er auch die erste Impfung dagegen.

Aber wurde Pasteurs bahnbrechende Entdeckung sofort begrüßt und von der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft bejubelt? Nein, natürlich nicht. Stattdessen verteidigten seine wissenschaftlichen Kollegen und die französische medizinische Akademie energisch die alten Dogmen und griffen Pasteur mit der Begründung an, dass er kein Arzt, sondern nur ein Chemiker sei. Obwohl er vom medizinischen Establishment in der Öffentlichkeit verspottet und verschmäht wurde, gab Pasteur nicht auf.

Insgesamt brauchte Pasteur mehr als 25 Jahre, um die veralteten Dogmen und den erbitterten Widerstand des Status Quo zu überwinden. Der Wendepunkt kam am 6. Juli 1885, als er einen kleinen Jungen (den neunjährigen Joe Meister) impfte, der sich mit Tollwut angesteckt hatte. Ohne Pasteurs Eingreifen wäre der Junge mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit gestorben.

Doch die Menschheit musste für das Zögern der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft teuer bezahlen. Weltweit hätten Hunderttausende von Leben gerettet werden können, wenn man seine Ergebnisse rascher anerkannt hätte, anstatt sich ihnen bitterlich und irrational zu widersetzen.

Letztlich ebnete Pasteurs Arbeit den Weg zur Entdeckung von anderen infektiösen Keimen wie Tuberkulose, Cholera, Diphtherie und Tetanus. Noch wichtiger ist, dass seine Arbeit die Entwicklung von Impfstoffen und später von Antibiotika möglich machte.

Als Pasteur im Jahre 1895 starb, wurde er für seine wichtigen Leistungen für die Menschheit zu Recht als ein Held gefeiert.

Wie wir erfuhren, wo Krankheiten herkommen

Image: Wikipedia

Rudolph Virchow (1821-1902)

Neben der Entdeckung, dass Epidemien von Bakterien und anderen Mikroorganismen verursacht werden, brachte die Einführung des Mikroskops auch Durchbrüche in anderen Bereichen der Medizin.

Zum Beispiel entdeckte der deutsche Arzt Rudolf Virchow mithilfe eines Mikroskops, dass der menschliche Körper aus Milliarden von Zellen besteht. Infolgedessen stellte er fest, dass Krankheiten nicht nur “zufällig” entstehen, sondern das Ergebnis nicht richtig funktionierender Zellen sind.

Virchows Ideen und medizinische Ansätze waren zu jener Zeit eine radikale Abkehr von der herrschenden Ansicht der wissenschaftlichen Orthodoxie, die im Wesentlichen davon ausging, dass die Ursachen von Krankheiten in Geweben oder Organen liegen. Dies war vor allem der Grund, warum Virchows Vortrag über “Venenentzündung” anlässlich des fünfzigsten Jahrestages der Gründung der Akademie der Militärärzte in Berlin am 2. August 1845 zu allgemeiner Entrüstung führte und der Direktor der Geburtshilfeklinik rief: “Gut, gut, haben Sie das gehört? Er erzählt uns, dass wir überhaupt nichts wissen.” Da er dem wissenschaftlichen Status Quo widersprach, schien Virchow für fast alle Anwesenden ein Ketzer zu sein.

Trotz des Widerstandes vonseiten der Fachkreise und wissenschaftlichen Fachpresse ließ Virchow sich nicht entmutigen und verteidigte seine Entdeckungen mit aller Kraft. Da er eine starke Persönlichkeit war und über einen ausgeprägten Sinn für Logik verfügte, waren ihm seine Kritiker nicht gewachsen.

Im Jahr 1858 veröffentlichte Virchow seine bahnbrechende Arbeit mit dem Titel “Zellularpathologie”, die zum ersten Mal erläuterte, dass Krankheiten auf der Ebene der Zellen entstehen. Weitere 130 Jahre später ermöglichte dieses Verständnis Dr. Rath, den Mangel an Vitaminen und anderen wichtigen Trägern der zellulären Bioenergie als die häufigste Ursache von zellulären Fehlfunktionen zu identifizieren.

Als Mann mit großen Fähigkeiten, Originalität, breitem Wissen und vielfältigen menschlichen Interessen wurde Virchow bekannt als Pionier der Pathologie, als Epidemiologe, Hygienespezialist, Lehrer, Redakteur und Sozialreformer. Am wichtigsten ist jedoch, dass seine Prinzipien der Zellularpathologie bis zum heutigen Tag weiterhin die Grundlage des Pathologieunterrichts an den medizinischen Fakultäten der ganzen Welt bilden.

Wie wir die Bedeutung guter Hygiene lernten

Image: Wikipedia

Ignaz Semmelweis (1818-1865)

Ignaz Semmelweis führte im Jahre 1847 das Kindbett- oder Wochenbettfieber auf die mangelnde Hygiene von Ärzten zurück, die sich nicht ihre Hände wuschen, wenn sie aus dem Pathologie-Labor kamen und auf die Entbindungsstationen gingen. Vor dieser Entdeckung starben in Krankenhäusern viele Frauen an dieser Krankheit.

Heute ist eine gute Hygiene natürlich gängige Praxis in Krankenhäusern. Die Krankenzimmer sind ausnahmslos mit antiseptischem Hand-Gel für medizinisches Personal und Besucher ausgestattet, und Chirurgen waschen sich routinemäßig vor der Durchführung von Operationen sehr gründlich die Hände.

Im neunzehnten Jahrhundert war dies jedoch noch ganz anders. Damals wuschen sich Chirurgen weder vor einer Operation noch bevor sie ihre Patienten behandelten die Hände. Ärzte und Medizinstudenten untersuchten oft auch direkt nach dem Sezieren von Leichen Frauen, die gerade ein Kind geboren hatten. Das führte zum Tod der jungen Mütter durch Kindbettfieber.

Erstaunlicherweise blieb die Ärzteschaft trotz Semmelweis’ revolutionärer Erkenntnis über die Bedeutung guter Hygienemethoden, die in seinem Krankenhaus zu einer drastischen Reduzierung der Sterberate an Kindbettfieber auf rund 1 Prozent führte, gleichgültig gegenüber seiner Entdeckung. Er war zudem einer wachsenden Flut von Kritik und zynischen Angriffen auf seine Glaubwürdigkeit ausgesetzt. Auch die Veröffentlichung seiner bahnbrechenden Arbeit “Die Ätiologie, der Begriff und die Prophylaxe des Kindbettfiebers” im Jahre 1861 brachte seine Gegner nicht zum Schweigen und er wurde weiterhin weitgehend ignoriert, abgelehnt und sogar lächerlich gemacht.

Leider starb Semmelweis schon lange, bevor seine Entdeckung schließlich in die gängige medizinische Praxis des späten neunzehnten Jahrhunderts übernommen wurde. Er starb in Vergessenheit, nachdem er in eine Irrenanstalt eingewiesen worden war, wo er von den Angestellten schwer misshandelt wurde. Die umfangreichen inneren Verletzungen, die er als Folge dieser Schläge erlitten hatte, waren mit ziemlicher Sicherheit die Ursache seines frühen Todes. Hätte man auf seine Ratschläge zum Thema Hygiene früher reagiert, hätten natürlich viele tausend Todesfälle vermieden werden können.

Wiki Rath www.wiki-rath.org on behalf of Dr. Matthias Rath and the Dr. Rath Health Foundation

HIV/AIDS:
Dr. Rath was RIGHT!

A clinical trial published in November 2013 found that long-term supplementation with multivitamins and selenium for HIV-infected patients in Botswana reduced the risk of immune decline and illness.

Read more here.

Donations to Wikipedia

Where does the money go?

Read more here.

Wikipedia

A So-Called 'Free Encyclopedia' Controlled by Special Interest Groups

Read more here.

Cementing the Status Quo

Wikipedia: Free access to the sum of all human knowledge – or just another way of cementing the status quo?

Read more here.

The Soros Connection

One of the most notable of the Wikimedia Foundation's supporters is the so-called "Open Society Institute", founded by the chairman of Soros Fund Management LLC, George Soros.

Read more here.

Examples of Historic Transformations – Parallels to LEARN from

The battle for the transition from the geocentric to the heliocentric universe

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

At the turn of the 16th to the 17th century, the Catholic Church was the most powerful institution in the world. Much of its power was deducted from the misconception that the earth was at the center of the universe – with Rome at the center of the earth.

 It was clear that if this model of the universe were to be proven wrong, much of the power and control exerted by the Roman Church over the people of the earth at that time would evaporate.

Thus, at the beginning of the 17th century, the controversy between the geocentric universe – with the earth at its center – and the heliocentric universe – with the sun at its center – also marked one of the most important battles at that time. The outcome of this battle would essentially determine who would rule the world for the next centuries.

The Battleground

On one site of this battle was the status quo, the Roman Church, which wanted to preserve its medieval privileges. On the other side was a growing group of scientists who rejected the dogmas and were committed to scientific evidence. They had left the medieval constraints of thought and had become pioneers of a new time.

Following the initial work on the heliocentric system by the Polish Astronomer Nicolai Copernicus and German astronomer Johannes Kepler, the Italian physicist Galileo Galilei decided to publicly speak out in favor of this new system of the world. The discovery of the telescope greatly helped him to gather the scientific proof for this new truth.

Adversaries – The Pigeon League

The first publication of Galileo’s telescope observations of the planets in 1610 was followed by years of public controversy and attacks on him. So numerous were his opponents that he gave up dealing with them individually. So bizarre were the arguments of his adversaries – trying to justify the geocentric universe with ever more absurd trajectory paths of the planets – that he collectively named them the ‘Pigeon League’.

The status quo, the Roman Church, reacted fiercely against Galileo’s writings as they endangered its religious power – and, as a result, its political and economic power – over this planet. In 1616, therefore, the Roman Church determined the heliocentric model of the universe to be ‘heretic’.

After the publication of his principal work, “Dialogue Concerning the Two Chief World Systems”, Galileo was called in front of the Roman Inquisition and tried for ‘heresy’ in 1633. He was found "vehemently suspect of heresy", for stating that:

“the Sun lies motionless at the center of the universe, that the Earth is not at its center and moves, and that one may hold and defend an opinion as probable after it has been declared contrary to Holy Scripture.”

Galileo was ordered to "abjure, curse and detest" those opinions and his books and teachings were banned – including even those he might write in the future. In order to reinforce this verdict, the Roman Inquisition put Galileo under house arrest for the rest of his life.

It took the Catholic Church almost 400 years before it acknowledged its error. In 1992, Pope John Paul II officially acknowledged Galileo’s scientific contribution and the validity of the “new truth”, the heliocentric universe.

In the case of Galileo, too, therefore, the words of the philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer were proven to be correct:

All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.

The First Vaccination – And the Battle for Its Acceptance

This image is in the public domain in the United States. In most cases, this means that it was first published prior to January 1, 1923 (see the template documentation for more cases). Other jurisdictions may have other rules, and this image might not be in the public domain outside the United States.

Edward Jenner (1749-1823)

Edward Jenner (1749 – 1823) was a British physician and scientist. He was the first to develop a theory about vaccination and to successfully test it against smallpox using pus found in cowpox blisters.

This was in 1796. Jenner immediately reported his findings to the Royal Society in London. But this club, representing the status quo in medicine and sciences at that time, refused his work.

By 1802, the debate about the new vaccination was in full swing. An ‘Anti-Vaccination Society’ had been founded, which frontally attacked Jenner and his new method of using cowpox to prevent smallpox in humans. The illustration below, from the same year, shows cows growing out of the bodies and limbs of people.

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

But Jenner knew he was right and continued, despite the ongoing attacks by the agents of the medical status quo. In 1840, based on Jenner’s pioneering work, a ‘Vaccination Act’ offered vaccination for everybody in Britain free of charge.

Then and now, the lobbyists and media scribes of the status quo who attack medical progress share a huge responsibility. Tens of thousands, perhaps millions, of people die in one year while a medical advance is delayed or obstructed by false media reports.

The very same is true today regarding the breakthrough of natural health in the fight against cancer and other diseases.

The Elimination of Scurvy – 40 Years of Delay Because of Resistance by the Status Quo

This work is in the public domain in the United States because it is a work of the United States Federal Government under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code.

James Lind (1716-1794)

James Lind (1716-1794) was a Scottish physician. He is known today for his studies on the causes and remedies of the sailor’s disease scurvy.

Dr. Lind entered the navy in 1739 and, in 1747, became surgeon on a ship in the Bay of Biscay. It was there that he proved the health benefits of citrus fruits in scurvy. In a well-designed experiment, he treated six different groups of sailors with different dietary additions, including vinegar, saltwater and spices. But only the group of scurvy patients who received oranges and lemons recovered.

In 1753 he summarized his findings in a book, ‘A treatise of the scurvy’. This book, however, was virtually ignored and Dr. Lind’s simple recommendations to save the lives of sailors were neglected.

Amazingly, it took another 40 years before Dr. Lind’s recommendations were finally adopted by the British admiralty and lemon juice and limes were distributed to every sailor.

Imagine how many thousands of sailors had to die for one simple reason: the resistance of the status quo to new discoveries and the obstructive power of old dogmas.

Scurvy affected the lives of thousands of sailors at that time. Today, cancer is killing 7.5 million people every year. The scope of the cancer epidemic today is by an order of magnitude bigger than that of scurvy – and so is the responsibility of those who now block the possible control of cancer by widespread use of micronutrients.

Why epidemics are no longer a curse from heaven

Image: Wikipedia

Louis Pasteur (1822-1895)

Until the middle of the 19th century, epidemics such as plague, cholera and smallpox were believed to be the result of curses from heaven. The sudden onset of these diseases, coupled with the lack of access to microscopes with which to study their real origins, had kept this medieval belief flourishing since the beginning of mankind.

However, one hundred and fifty years ago, everything changed. Using a microscope, French chemist Louis Pasteur was able to discover that the real causes of epidemics were bacteria and other microorganisms. Moreover, not only did Pasteur discover the virus that caused one of the most devastating diseases of his time – rabies – he also developed the first vaccination therapy against it.

But was Pasteur’s groundbreaking discovery immediately welcomed and acclaimed by the scientific community? No, of course not. Instead, his scientific colleagues and the French medical academy vigorously defended the old dogmas and attacked him on the grounds that he was not a physician, but merely a chemist. Nevertheless, despite being ridiculed by the medical establishment and vilified in public, Pasteur refused to give in.

In all, it took more than twenty-five years for Pasteur to overcome the outdated dogma and fierce resistance of the status quo. The turning point came on July 6, 1885, when he vaccinated a young boy, nine-year-old Joe Meister, who had contracted rabies. Without Pasteur’s intervention, the boy would almost certainly have died.

But the scientific community’s delay in acting upon Pasteur’s discovery had been extremely costly to mankind. On a global scale, hundreds of thousands of lives could have been saved if his findings had been accepted rather than being bitterly and irrationally opposed.

Ultimately, Pasteur’s work paved the way to the discovery of other infectious germs such as tuberculosis, cholera, diphtheria and tetanus. More importantly, it enabled the development of vaccines and, later, antibiotics.

When Pasteur died in 1895, he was rightly honoured as a hero for his important contributions to mankind.

How we learned where diseases come from

Image: Wikipedia

Rudolph Virchow (1821-1902)

In addition to revealing how epidemics were caused by bacteria and other microorganisms, the advent of the microscope also brought breakthroughs in other areas of medicine.

For example, with the aid of a microscope, German physician Rudolf Virchow was able to discover that the human body is made up of billions of cells. As a result, he learned that diseases do not just “happen” but are the result of malfunctioning cells.

Virchow’s ideas and approach to medicine were a radical departure from the prevailing view of the scientific orthodoxy at that time, which essentially held that disease originated in tissues or organs. Notably, therefore, Virchow’s reading of his paper on "Inflammation of the Veins" at the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the foundation of the Academy of Military Surgeons in Berlin, on August 2, 1845, resulted in general indignation and the director of the Obstetrical Clinic famously exclaiming, "Well, well, did you hear that? He tells us that we know nothing at all." By disagreeing with the scientific status quo, Virchow seemed to almost everyone present to be committing heresy.

Despite the opposition he came up against from within professional circles and in the scientific press, Virchow remained undiscouraged and fought back vigorously. Possessed of a strong personality and armed with a keen sense of logic, he was more than a match for his detractors.  

In 1858, Virchow published his landmark work entitled “Cellular Pathology,” which explained for the first time that diseases originate at the level of cells. Another 130 years or so later, this understanding enabled Dr. Rath to identify a lack of vitamins and other essential carriers of cellular bioenergy as the most frequent cause of cellular malfunction.

A man of great ability, originality, wide knowledge and many-sided human interests, Virchow became known as a pioneer in pathology, epidemiologist, sanitarian, teacher, editor, and social reformer. Most importantly of all, however, his principles of cellular pathology continue to form the basis of pathology lessons conducted in medical schools throughout the world to this very day.

How we learned the importance of good hygiene

Image: Wikipedia

Ignaz Semmelweis (1818-1865)

Until Ignaz Semmelweis discovered, in 1847, that puerperal or ‘childbed’ fever was the result of doctors not washing their hands when they left the pathology lab to go to the maternity ward, hospitals had a high rate of mortality from this condition.

Nowadays, of course, good hygiene is standard practice in hospitals. Wards are invariably supplied with antiseptic hand gel for both medical staff and visitors alike, and surgeons routinely ‘scrub up’ before carrying out operations.

In the nineteenth century, however, things were very different. Not only did surgeons not scrub up before surgery, they didn’t even wash their hands before moving from one patient to another. Similarly, doctors and medical students moved straight from dissecting corpses to examining women who had just given birth – thus, as a consequence of not washing their hands, causing death by puerperal fever in the new mothers.

Notably, however, even after Semmelweis had made his revolutionary finding about the importance of good hygienic practices – dramatically reducing the mortality rate from puerperal fever in his hospital to around 1% – the medical profession remained indifferent to his discovery and he became subject to a growing tide of criticism and cynical attacks on his credibility. Even the publishing of his milestone work, “The Etiology, Concept, and Prophylaxis of Childbed Fever,” in 1861, did not silence his opponents and he continued to be largely ignored, rejected and even ridiculed.

Sadly, long before his discovery was finally implemented into standard medical practice in the late nineteenth century, Semmelweis had died in oblivion following his being committed to an insane asylum and severely beaten by its staff. The extensive internal injuries he suffered as a result of these beatings were almost certainly the cause of his untimely death. Had his advice about good hygiene been acted upon earlier, of course, many thousands of patients’ deaths could have been avoided.