Wiki Rath www.wiki-rath.org on behalf of Dr. Matthias Rath and the Dr. Rath Health Foundation

Wikipédia

Une soi-disant "Encyclopédie gratuite" contrôlée par des groupes d'intérêt particuliers

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Présentation de "MastCell"

Dès ses toutes premières publications en août 2006, "MastCell" a clairement affiché que son intérêt premier et sa principale banque de données étaient la pratique de la médecine orientée vers la pharmacie.

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Consolider le statu quo

Wikipédia : Un accès gratuit à toutes les connaissances humaines ou seulement un autre moyen de consolider le statu quo?

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

La connexion Soros

L'un des partisans les plus importants de la Wikimedia Fondation est le soi-disant "Open Society Institute" (Institut pour une Société ouverte), fondé par George Soros, président du Soros Fund Management LLC.

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Exemples d'évolutions historiques –
Les parallèles dont nous pouvons tirer les LEÇONS

La lutte pour le passage d'un univers géocentrique à un univers héliocentrique

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

Entre le XVIème et le XVIIème siècle, l'Eglise catholique était la plus puissante institution du monde. La majeure partie de son pouvoir reposait sur la conception erronée selon laquelle la Terre était le centre de l'univers, Rome se trouvant au centre de la Terre.

Il était évident que, si le modèle de cet univers s'avérait faux, l'Église romaine perdait une grande partie du pouvoir et du contrôle qu'elle exerçait à cette époque sur l'ensemble des peuples.

Par conséquent, au début du XVIIème siècle, la controverse entre un univers géocentrique (avec la Terre en son centre) et un univers héliocentrique (avec le Soleil en son centre) a également représenté une des luttes les plus importantes de cette époque. L'issue de cette bataille devait essentiellement déterminer qui pourrait diriger le monde dans les siècles à venir.

Le décor

Au cœur de cette bataille, nous trouvons, d'un côté, le statu quo, l'Église romaine, qui voulait préserver ses privilèges médiévaux et, de l'autre, un groupe de plus en plus important de scientifiques qui rejetaient les dogmes anciens et qui s'en remettaient aux preuves scientifiques. Ils avaient pris leur distance par rapport aux contraintes médiévales de la pensée et étaient devenus les pionniers d'une nouvelle ère.

Suite au travail initial sur le système héliocentrique de l'astronome polonais Nicolas Copernic et de l'astronome allemand Johannes Kepler, le physicien italien Galileo Galilei (Galilée) a décidé de s'exprimer publiquement en faveur du nouveau système du monde. La découverte du télescope a considérablement contribué à réunir les preuves scientifiques nécessaires à cette nouvelle vérité.

Adversaires – La Ligue des pigeons

La première publication, en 1610, des observations que Galilée avait faites au télescope, a été suivie par des années de polémique publique et d'attaques à son encontre. Ses opposants étaient si nombreux qu'il a renoncé à traiter avec eux individuellement. Les arguments de ses adversaires qui tentaient de justifier l'univers géocentrique par des trajectoires absurdes des planètes étaient si étranges que Galilée les a nommés collectivement la "Ligue des pigeons".

Le statu quo (l'Église romaine) a réagi vivement à l'encontre des écrits de Galilée, car ceux-ci mettaient en danger son pouvoir religieux et, de ce fait, son pouvoir politique et économique, sur cette planète. Partant de là, l'Église romaine a, en 1616, déclaré que le modèle héliocentrique de l'univers relevait de "l'hérésie".

Après la publication de son œuvre principale, "Dialogue sur les deux grands systèmes du monde", Galilée a été jugé par l'inquisition romaine et condamné pour "hérésie" en 1633. Il a été déclaré "fortement suspect d'hérésie" pour avoir dit que :

"Le Soleil est au centre du monde et ne se déplace pas, que la Terre n'est pas au centre du monde et se déplace et qu'une opinion peut être tenue pour probable et défendue, même si elle a été déclarée contraire aux Saintes Écritures".

Galilée a été contraint "d'abjurer, de maudire et de détester" ses théories ; ses livres et ses enseignements ont été bannis, y compris ceux qu'il pourrait éventuellement écrire par la suite. Pour renforcer ce verdict, l'Inquisition romaine a placé Galilée en résidence surveillée à son domicile pendant le reste de sa vie.

Il a fallu près de 400 ans à l'Église romaine pour reconnaître son erreur. En 1992, le Pape Jean Paul II a reconnu officiellement la contribution scientifique de Galilée et la validité de la "nouvelle vérité", l'univers héliocentrique.

La citation du philosophe Arthur Schopenhauer s'est également avérée pertinente en ce qui concerne le cas de Galilée:

Toute vérité franchit trois étapes. D'abord, elle est ridiculisée. Ensuite, elle subit une forte opposition. Puis, elle est considérée comme ayant toujours été une évidence.

Le premier vaccin - Et la lutte pour son acceptation

This image is in the public domain in the United States. In most cases, this means that it was first published prior to January 1, 1923 (see the template documentation for more cases). Other jurisdictions may have other rules, and this image might not be in the public domain outside the United States.

Edward Jenner (1749-1823)

Edward Jenner (1749 – 1823) était un scientifique et un médecin britannique. Il a été le premier à développer une théorie sur la vaccination et à la tester avec succès contre la variole à l'aide de pus provenant des cloques de vaccine.

C'était en 1796. Jenner a immédiatement communiqué ses conclusions à la Royal Society de Londres. Cependant, cette institution qui représentait, à cette époque, le statu quo de la médecine et des sciences a refusé son travail.

En 1802, la polémique sur la nouvelle vaccination battait son plein. Une "société anti-vaccination" avait été créée et avait attaqué de front Jenner et sa nouvelle méthode qui consistait à utiliser la vaccine pour protéger les humains contre la variole. L'illustration ci-dessous, qui a été réalisée la même année, montre des vaches qui poussent hors du corps et des membres des hommes.

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Cependant, Jenner savait qu'il avait raison et il a continué malgré les attaques incessantes des agents du statu quo médical. En 1840, sur la base du travail de pionnier de Jenner, une loi a permis la vaccination gratuite pour tous en Grande Bretagne.

Hier comme aujourd'hui, les lobbyistes et les médias du statu quo qui attaquent les progrès faits dans le domaine médical portent une lourde responsabilité. Des dizaines de milliers, peut-être même des millions de personnes, meurent chaque année du fait qu'un progrès médical est retardé ou qu'on y fait obstacle en faisant de faux rapports dans la presse.

Il en va de même en ce qui concerne la percée en matière de santé naturelle dans la lutte contre le cancer et d'autres maladies.

Élimination du scorbut – 40 ans de retard à cause de la résistance du statu quo

This work is in the public domain in the United States because it is a work of the United States Federal Government under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code.

James Lind (1716-1794)

James Lind (1716-1794) était un physicien écossais. Il est connu aujourd'hui pour ses études sur les causes et le traitement de la maladie des marins, le scorbut.

Le Dr Lind est entré dans la marine en 1739 et, en 1747, il était chirurgien sur un navire dans le Golfe de Gascogne. C'est là qu'il a prouvé les bienfaits des agrumes dans le cas du scorbut. Au cours d'une expérimentation bien conçue, il a traité six groupes distincts de marins avec des suppléments alimentaires différents incluant du vinaigre, de l'eau salée et des épices. Cependant, seuls les patients atteints de scorbut qui avaient mangé des oranges et des citrons se sont rétablis.

En 1753, il a résumé ses observations dans un livre "A treatise of the scurvy". Cependant, aucune attention n'a été portée à cet écrit et les recommandations simples et salutaires du Dr Lind pour traiter les marins ont été ignorées.

Le fait qu'il ait fallu attendre encore 40 ans pour que les recommandations du Dr Lind soient finalement acceptées par l'amirauté britannique et que du jus de citron et des agrumes soient distribués aux marins est franchement étonnant.

Des milliers de marins sont morts pour une raison toute simple : la résistance du statu quo face à de nouvelles découvertes et la puissance inhibitrice des vieux dogmes.

A cette époque, des milliers de marins étaient atteints de scorbut. Aujourd'hui, le cancer tue 7,5 millions de personnes par an. L'ampleur de l'épidémie actuelle du cancer est nettement supérieure à celle du scorbut - mais il en est de même de la responsabilité de ceux qui bloquent aujourd'hui la possibilité de contrôler cette maladie grâce à une large utilisation de micronutriments.

Pourquoi les épidémies ne sont plus une malédiction divine

Image: Wikipedia

Louis Pasteur (1822-1895)

Jusqu'au milieu du XIXème siècle, les épidémies, telles que la peste, le choléra ou la variole, étaient considérées comme étant les effets de malédictions divines. En raison de l'apparition soudaine de ces maladies et de l'absence de microscope qui aurait permis de rechercher leurs véritables origines, cette croyance médiévale s'était imposée dès le début de l'humanité.

Cependant, tout a changé il y a cent cinquante ans. A l'aide d'un microscope, le chimiste français Louis Pasteur a découvert que les causes réelles des épidémies étaient des bactéries et autres micro-organismes. De plus, Pasteur a non seulement découvert le virus qui était à l'origine de l'une des maladies les plus graves de cette époque, à savoir la rage, mais il a également développé le premier vaccin pour lutter contre cette affection.

Toutefois, la découverte révolutionnaire de Pasteur a-t-elle été aussitôt saluée et acclamée par la communauté scientifique? Bien sûr que non. Au lieu de cela, ses collègues scientifiques et l'académie médicale française ont défendu énergiquement les anciens dogmes et l'ont attaqué sous prétexte qu'il n'était pas médecin, mais simple chimiste. Néanmoins, malgré les sarcasmes émanant du corps médical et les diffamations publiques, Pasteur n'a jamais renoncé.

En tout, il a fallu plus de vingt-cinq ans à Pasteur pour venir à bout des dogmes obsolètes et de la résistance acharnée du statu quo. Le tournant a eu lieu le 6 juillet 1885, lorsqu'il a vacciné un jeune garçon de neuf ans, Joseph Meister, qui avait contracté la rage. Sans l'intervention de Pasteur, cet enfant serait très certainement mort.

Cependant, l'humanité a dû payer très cher le retard pris par la communauté scientifique à l'égard de la découverte de Pasteur. Des centaines de milliers de vies dans le monde entier auraient pu être sauvées, si ses découvertes avaient été reconnues plus tôt et si on ne leur avait pas opposé une résistance extrême et irrationnelle.

Enfin, l'œuvre de Pasteur a ouvert la voie à la découverte d'autres germes infectieux, comme celui de la tuberculose, du choléra, de la diphtérie et du tétanos. Plus important encore, elle a permis le développement de vaccins et, plus tard, d'antibiotiques.

A sa mort en 1895, Pasteur reçut les honneurs qu'il méritait pour les importants services rendus à l'humanité.

Comment avons-nous appris d'où viennent les maladies

Image: Wikipedia

Rudolph Virchow (1821-1902)

Outre le fait que l'avènement du microscope a permis de savoir que les épidémies étaient causées par des bactéries et autres micro-organismes, il a également était à l'origine de progrès dans d'autres domaines de la médecine.

Par exemple, le physicien allemand Rudolf Virchow a pu, à l'aide d'un microscope, découvrir que le corps humain est constitué de milliards de cellules. Partant de là, il s'est aperçu que les maladies "n'apparaissent pas simplement comme cela", mais qu'elles sont le résultat d'un dysfonctionnement au niveau des cellules.

Les idées de Virchow et son approche de la médecine étaient radicalement opposées à la science orthodoxe de l'époque; cette dernière partait essentiellement du principe que les maladies trouvaient leur origine dans les tissus et les organes. Et c'est notamment pour cette raison que la conférence que Virchow tint à l'occasion du cinquantième anniversaire de la fondation de l'Académie des Chirurgiens militaires à Berlin, le 2 août 1845, et qui traitait de "l'inflammation des veines", déclencha l'indignation générale ; le directeur du département obstétrique s'est écrié: "Eh bien, vous avez entendu? Il dit que nous ne savons rien du tout". En s'opposant au statu quo scientifique, la quasi-totalité des personnes présentes pensaient que Virchow était un hérétique.

Malgré l'opposition des milieux professionnels et de la presse scientifique, Virchow ne s'est pas laissé décourager et s'est défendu énergiquement. Doté d'une forte personnalité et d'un excellent sens de la logique, ses détracteurs ne pouvaient pas lui tenir tête.

En 1858, Virchow a publié un ouvrage historique intitulé "Pathologie cellulaire", qui expliquait pour la première fois que les maladies trouvaient leur origine au niveau des cellules. Environ 130 années plus tard, cette idée a permis au Dr Rath d'identifier la cause la plus fréquente des dysfonctionnements cellulaires, à savoir une carence en vitamines et autres porteurs de bioénergie cellulaire essentiels.

Grâce à ses grandes aptitudes, à son originalité, à ses vastes connaissances et à ses multiples intérêts pour tout ce qui touche à l'homme, Virchow s'est fait un nom en tant que pionnier dans le domaine de la pathologie et de l'épidémiologie, en tant que médecin, enseignant, éditeur et réformateur social. Toutefois, le plus important dans tout cela est le fait que ses principes en matière de pathologie cellulaire constituent encore aujourd'hui la base des cours dispensés dans cette matière dans les facultés de médecine du monde entier.

Comment avons-nous appris l'importance d'une bonne hygiène

Image: Wikipedia

Ignace Semmelweis (1818-1865)

Jusqu'à ce qu'Ignace Semmelweis découvre, en 1847, que la fièvre puerpérale était due à un manque d'hygiène de la part des médecins qui ne se lavaient pas les mains lorsqu'ils allaient du laboratoire de pathologie à la maternité, les hôpitaux connaissaient des taux de mortalité élevés dus à cette affection.

Aujourd'hui, bien entendu, une bonne hygiène est pratique courante dans les hôpitaux. Les salles sont toutes équipées de gel antiseptique destiné au personnel médical et aux visiteurs et les chirurgiens se désinfectent systématiquement les mains avant d'opérer.

Au XIXème siècle, les choses étaient cependant très différentes. Non seulement les chirurgiens ne se désinfectaient pas les mains avant une opération, mais ils ne le faisaient même pas avant de passer d'un patient à un autre. De même, médecins et étudiants en médecine passaient directement des salles de dissection à l'examen de femmes qui venaient d'accoucher, provoquant ainsi la mort de jeunes mamans des suites de la fièvre puerpérale.

Toutefois, même après cette découverte révolutionnaire relative à l'importance de bonnes mesures d'hygiène, celles-ci ayant permis de réduire considérablement le taux de mortalité (environ 1%) due à cette affection, le corps médical est resté complètement indifférent à cela ; Ignace Semmelweis a fait l'objet de critiques de plus en plus violentes et d'attaques cyniques à propos de sa crédibilité. Même la publication de son œuvre capitale intitulée "Etiologie, concept et prophylaxie de la fièvre puerpérale", en 1861, n'a pas fait taire ses opposants et il a continué d'être méprisé, rejeté et même ridiculisé.

Malheureusement, Semmelweis est mort dans l'oubli après avoir été interné dans un asile psychiatrique, où le personnel le rouait de coups, bien avant que sa découverte soit finalement intégrée dans les pratiques médicales standard à la fin du XIXème siècle. Les nombreuses blessures internes dues à ces violences ont presque certainement causé sa mort. Si ses conseils en matière d'hygiène avaient été suivis plus tôt, des milliers de vies auraient bien évidement pu être sauvées.

Wiki Rath www.wiki-rath.org on behalf of Dr. Matthias Rath and the Dr. Rath Health Foundation

HIV/AIDS:
Dr. Rath was RIGHT!

A clinical trial published in November 2013 found that long-term supplementation with multivitamins and selenium for HIV-infected patients in Botswana reduced the risk of immune decline and illness.

Read more here.

Donations to Wikipedia

Where does the money go?

Read more here.

Wikipedia

A So-Called 'Free Encyclopedia' Controlled by Special Interest Groups

Read more here.

Cementing the Status Quo

Wikipedia: Free access to the sum of all human knowledge – or just another way of cementing the status quo?

Read more here.

The Soros Connection

One of the most notable of the Wikimedia Foundation's supporters is the so-called "Open Society Institute", founded by the chairman of Soros Fund Management LLC, George Soros.

Read more here.

Examples of Historic Transformations – Parallels to LEARN from

The battle for the transition from the geocentric to the heliocentric universe

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

At the turn of the 16th to the 17th century, the Catholic Church was the most powerful institution in the world. Much of its power was deducted from the misconception that the earth was at the center of the universe – with Rome at the center of the earth.

 It was clear that if this model of the universe were to be proven wrong, much of the power and control exerted by the Roman Church over the people of the earth at that time would evaporate.

Thus, at the beginning of the 17th century, the controversy between the geocentric universe – with the earth at its center – and the heliocentric universe – with the sun at its center – also marked one of the most important battles at that time. The outcome of this battle would essentially determine who would rule the world for the next centuries.

The Battleground

On one site of this battle was the status quo, the Roman Church, which wanted to preserve its medieval privileges. On the other side was a growing group of scientists who rejected the dogmas and were committed to scientific evidence. They had left the medieval constraints of thought and had become pioneers of a new time.

Following the initial work on the heliocentric system by the Polish Astronomer Nicolai Copernicus and German astronomer Johannes Kepler, the Italian physicist Galileo Galilei decided to publicly speak out in favor of this new system of the world. The discovery of the telescope greatly helped him to gather the scientific proof for this new truth.

Adversaries – The Pigeon League

The first publication of Galileo’s telescope observations of the planets in 1610 was followed by years of public controversy and attacks on him. So numerous were his opponents that he gave up dealing with them individually. So bizarre were the arguments of his adversaries – trying to justify the geocentric universe with ever more absurd trajectory paths of the planets – that he collectively named them the ‘Pigeon League’.

The status quo, the Roman Church, reacted fiercely against Galileo’s writings as they endangered its religious power – and, as a result, its political and economic power – over this planet. In 1616, therefore, the Roman Church determined the heliocentric model of the universe to be ‘heretic’.

After the publication of his principal work, “Dialogue Concerning the Two Chief World Systems”, Galileo was called in front of the Roman Inquisition and tried for ‘heresy’ in 1633. He was found "vehemently suspect of heresy", for stating that:

“the Sun lies motionless at the center of the universe, that the Earth is not at its center and moves, and that one may hold and defend an opinion as probable after it has been declared contrary to Holy Scripture.”

Galileo was ordered to "abjure, curse and detest" those opinions and his books and teachings were banned – including even those he might write in the future. In order to reinforce this verdict, the Roman Inquisition put Galileo under house arrest for the rest of his life.

It took the Catholic Church almost 400 years before it acknowledged its error. In 1992, Pope John Paul II officially acknowledged Galileo’s scientific contribution and the validity of the “new truth”, the heliocentric universe.

In the case of Galileo, too, therefore, the words of the philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer were proven to be correct:

All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.

The First Vaccination – And the Battle for Its Acceptance

This image is in the public domain in the United States. In most cases, this means that it was first published prior to January 1, 1923 (see the template documentation for more cases). Other jurisdictions may have other rules, and this image might not be in the public domain outside the United States.

Edward Jenner (1749-1823)

Edward Jenner (1749 – 1823) was a British physician and scientist. He was the first to develop a theory about vaccination and to successfully test it against smallpox using pus found in cowpox blisters.

This was in 1796. Jenner immediately reported his findings to the Royal Society in London. But this club, representing the status quo in medicine and sciences at that time, refused his work.

By 1802, the debate about the new vaccination was in full swing. An ‘Anti-Vaccination Society’ had been founded, which frontally attacked Jenner and his new method of using cowpox to prevent smallpox in humans. The illustration below, from the same year, shows cows growing out of the bodies and limbs of people.

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.This applies to Australia, the European Union and those countries with a copyright term of life of the author plus 70 years.

But Jenner knew he was right and continued, despite the ongoing attacks by the agents of the medical status quo. In 1840, based on Jenner’s pioneering work, a ‘Vaccination Act’ offered vaccination for everybody in Britain free of charge.

Then and now, the lobbyists and media scribes of the status quo who attack medical progress share a huge responsibility. Tens of thousands, perhaps millions, of people die in one year while a medical advance is delayed or obstructed by false media reports.

The very same is true today regarding the breakthrough of natural health in the fight against cancer and other diseases.

The Elimination of Scurvy – 40 Years of Delay Because of Resistance by the Status Quo

This work is in the public domain in the United States because it is a work of the United States Federal Government under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code.

James Lind (1716-1794)

James Lind (1716-1794) was a Scottish physician. He is known today for his studies on the causes and remedies of the sailor’s disease scurvy.

Dr. Lind entered the navy in 1739 and, in 1747, became surgeon on a ship in the Bay of Biscay. It was there that he proved the health benefits of citrus fruits in scurvy. In a well-designed experiment, he treated six different groups of sailors with different dietary additions, including vinegar, saltwater and spices. But only the group of scurvy patients who received oranges and lemons recovered.

In 1753 he summarized his findings in a book, ‘A treatise of the scurvy’. This book, however, was virtually ignored and Dr. Lind’s simple recommendations to save the lives of sailors were neglected.

Amazingly, it took another 40 years before Dr. Lind’s recommendations were finally adopted by the British admiralty and lemon juice and limes were distributed to every sailor.

Imagine how many thousands of sailors had to die for one simple reason: the resistance of the status quo to new discoveries and the obstructive power of old dogmas.

Scurvy affected the lives of thousands of sailors at that time. Today, cancer is killing 7.5 million people every year. The scope of the cancer epidemic today is by an order of magnitude bigger than that of scurvy – and so is the responsibility of those who now block the possible control of cancer by widespread use of micronutrients.

Why epidemics are no longer a curse from heaven

Image: Wikipedia

Louis Pasteur (1822-1895)

Until the middle of the 19th century, epidemics such as plague, cholera and smallpox were believed to be the result of curses from heaven. The sudden onset of these diseases, coupled with the lack of access to microscopes with which to study their real origins, had kept this medieval belief flourishing since the beginning of mankind.

However, one hundred and fifty years ago, everything changed. Using a microscope, French chemist Louis Pasteur was able to discover that the real causes of epidemics were bacteria and other microorganisms. Moreover, not only did Pasteur discover the virus that caused one of the most devastating diseases of his time – rabies – he also developed the first vaccination therapy against it.

But was Pasteur’s groundbreaking discovery immediately welcomed and acclaimed by the scientific community? No, of course not. Instead, his scientific colleagues and the French medical academy vigorously defended the old dogmas and attacked him on the grounds that he was not a physician, but merely a chemist. Nevertheless, despite being ridiculed by the medical establishment and vilified in public, Pasteur refused to give in.

In all, it took more than twenty-five years for Pasteur to overcome the outdated dogma and fierce resistance of the status quo. The turning point came on July 6, 1885, when he vaccinated a young boy, nine-year-old Joe Meister, who had contracted rabies. Without Pasteur’s intervention, the boy would almost certainly have died.

But the scientific community’s delay in acting upon Pasteur’s discovery had been extremely costly to mankind. On a global scale, hundreds of thousands of lives could have been saved if his findings had been accepted rather than being bitterly and irrationally opposed.

Ultimately, Pasteur’s work paved the way to the discovery of other infectious germs such as tuberculosis, cholera, diphtheria and tetanus. More importantly, it enabled the development of vaccines and, later, antibiotics.

When Pasteur died in 1895, he was rightly honoured as a hero for his important contributions to mankind.

How we learned where diseases come from

Image: Wikipedia

Rudolph Virchow (1821-1902)

In addition to revealing how epidemics were caused by bacteria and other microorganisms, the advent of the microscope also brought breakthroughs in other areas of medicine.

For example, with the aid of a microscope, German physician Rudolf Virchow was able to discover that the human body is made up of billions of cells. As a result, he learned that diseases do not just “happen” but are the result of malfunctioning cells.

Virchow’s ideas and approach to medicine were a radical departure from the prevailing view of the scientific orthodoxy at that time, which essentially held that disease originated in tissues or organs. Notably, therefore, Virchow’s reading of his paper on "Inflammation of the Veins" at the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the foundation of the Academy of Military Surgeons in Berlin, on August 2, 1845, resulted in general indignation and the director of the Obstetrical Clinic famously exclaiming, "Well, well, did you hear that? He tells us that we know nothing at all." By disagreeing with the scientific status quo, Virchow seemed to almost everyone present to be committing heresy.

Despite the opposition he came up against from within professional circles and in the scientific press, Virchow remained undiscouraged and fought back vigorously. Possessed of a strong personality and armed with a keen sense of logic, he was more than a match for his detractors.  

In 1858, Virchow published his landmark work entitled “Cellular Pathology,” which explained for the first time that diseases originate at the level of cells. Another 130 years or so later, this understanding enabled Dr. Rath to identify a lack of vitamins and other essential carriers of cellular bioenergy as the most frequent cause of cellular malfunction.

A man of great ability, originality, wide knowledge and many-sided human interests, Virchow became known as a pioneer in pathology, epidemiologist, sanitarian, teacher, editor, and social reformer. Most importantly of all, however, his principles of cellular pathology continue to form the basis of pathology lessons conducted in medical schools throughout the world to this very day.

How we learned the importance of good hygiene

Image: Wikipedia

Ignaz Semmelweis (1818-1865)

Until Ignaz Semmelweis discovered, in 1847, that puerperal or ‘childbed’ fever was the result of doctors not washing their hands when they left the pathology lab to go to the maternity ward, hospitals had a high rate of mortality from this condition.

Nowadays, of course, good hygiene is standard practice in hospitals. Wards are invariably supplied with antiseptic hand gel for both medical staff and visitors alike, and surgeons routinely ‘scrub up’ before carrying out operations.

In the nineteenth century, however, things were very different. Not only did surgeons not scrub up before surgery, they didn’t even wash their hands before moving from one patient to another. Similarly, doctors and medical students moved straight from dissecting corpses to examining women who had just given birth – thus, as a consequence of not washing their hands, causing death by puerperal fever in the new mothers.

Notably, however, even after Semmelweis had made his revolutionary finding about the importance of good hygienic practices – dramatically reducing the mortality rate from puerperal fever in his hospital to around 1% – the medical profession remained indifferent to his discovery and he became subject to a growing tide of criticism and cynical attacks on his credibility. Even the publishing of his milestone work, “The Etiology, Concept, and Prophylaxis of Childbed Fever,” in 1861, did not silence his opponents and he continued to be largely ignored, rejected and even ridiculed.

Sadly, long before his discovery was finally implemented into standard medical practice in the late nineteenth century, Semmelweis had died in oblivion following his being committed to an insane asylum and severely beaten by its staff. The extensive internal injuries he suffered as a result of these beatings were almost certainly the cause of his untimely death. Had his advice about good hygiene been acted upon earlier, of course, many thousands of patients’ deaths could have been avoided.